Fall crops...

Where Fellowship and Camaraderie lives: that place where the CPS membership values fun and good fellowship as the cement of the community
jmg
Resting Mercenary face
Resting Mercenary face

Fall crops...

Post by jmg »

Anybody growing fall/cold weather crops? We've always done a big summer garden, but this is my first time try anything in the fall and/or winter. I really should have done more homework. However, I've currently got the very beginnings of kale, turnips, radishes, and cabbage coming up. We'll see.
"When you're dumb, you've got to be tough." -My dad

"No reserves. No retreats. No regrets." -William Borden
Del
Usher
Usher

Fall crops...

Post by Del »

Nothing happening here until after the ground thaws.

Well.... dairy farmers are spreading manure like crazy on the bare fields, trying to get their holding tanks and manure pits emptied before the snow falls.

"Autumn is in the air" in Wisconsin.
DLJake
Sunday School Superintendent
Sunday School Superintendent

Fall crops...

Post by DLJake »

Bear and I were south from the campus looking for horse farms. A couple of trusty solid spots produced no horses but, the fields were laid in for late November. New grass everywhere just waiting to be nibbled on.

We moved on and soon came upon a good sized cotton field. Not a stellar crop but picturesque as can be.

Reminded me of a short season I spent in Jackson, TN back when.

Lots of cotton there. This time of year it was everywhere. Trucks with a bail backs 14 foot high, cotton in all the ditches, blown up on the steps of everything; I found it quite beautiful.
Nothing destroys cowboy boots faster than mare's urine. - JimVH as published in Equine Quarterly September 2022
coco
JimVH from the old site
JimVH from the old site

Fall crops...

Post by coco »