Thomas rebuttal of Jackson

Where Fellowship and Camaraderie lives: that place where the CPS membership values fun and good fellowship as the cement of the community
Hovannes
Door Greeter
Door Greeter

Post by Hovannes »

I'm not a lawyer. I can't even remember spending a night at a Holiday Inn Express,
but Justice Clarence Thomas opinion rebutting Justice Jackson's opinion on Students for Fair Admission vs President and Fellows of Harvard College,
knocks it out of the park for me. Jackson's opinion, FWIW, could be considered a textbook definition for Wokeness.
I wish I could find a more direct link, but it's worth plowing through the opinions.
https://www.supremecourt.gov/opinions/2 ... 9_hgdj.pdf
Del
Usher
Usher

Post by Del »

Born into abject poverty in the segregated South, young Clarence Thomas grew up to graduate from Yale Law School. There was a lot of hard work, he overcame numerous obstacles, with many accomplishments and accolades. He passed through a strong phase as an angry young black radical admirer of Malcolm X. He nominally identified as a Democrat, of course.

From Wikipedia:
From 1971 to 1974, Thomas attended Yale Law School as one of twelve Black students. He graduated with a Juris Doctor degree "somewhere in the middle of his class".[39][40] He has said that the law firms he applied to after graduating from Yale did not take his J.D. seriously, assuming he obtained it because of affirmative action.[41] According to Thomas, the law firms also "asked pointed questions, unsubtly suggesting that they doubted I was as smart as my grades indicated".[42] In his 2007 memoir, he wrote: "I peeled a fifteen-cent sticker off a package of cigars and stuck it on the frame of my law degree to remind myself of the mistake I'd made by going to Yale. I never did change my mind about its value."
(I'd sure like to meet a 15¢ pack of cigars someday.)